Steps to your Driver’s License: Maryland uses a Graduated Licensing System program, which requires new drivers to gain driving experience with a supervising driver. It encourages the development of safe driving skills by imposing certain limitations during each step of the licensing process.
Here is an overview of the licensing process step-by-step:
1. Sign up for an MVA-certified Driver’s Education course In Maryland, the law requires everyone to complete a Driver’s Ed course in order to obtain a new driver's license. You can take this introductory course as early as at the age of 15, but this course required for every individual seeking a license, regardless of age.
You do not need to take Driver's Ed before getting your learner's permit, but many students find that taking the class first helps them to pass the MVA learner's permit exam on the first try.
To sign up for a class, contact Domus Driving School at 301-403-0058
2. The Lerner’s Permit The second step is obtaining a Learner's Permit. Applicants for Learner’s Permits must be at least 15 years and 9 months old and must pass a vision test and a computer-based written exam, provided by the MVA.
3. Fulfill All Practice Requirements (Enroll in a certified Driving School Program if you have not already done so) Maryland law requires that you have at least 9 months of driving practice with your learner's permit before you can apply for a provisional driver's license.
During the practice period, you are required to:
· Complete the 3 in-car lessons of the Driver's Education course
· Complete at least 60 hours of driving practice at home, and fill in those hours in the MVA Skills Logbook
· Keep your learner's permit for at least 9 months with no traffic violations. If you receive a speeding ticket or other violation while you have your learner's permit, the 9-month waiting period will reset, and you will need to wait an additional 9 months.
4. The Provisional Driver’s License After holding a Learner’s Permit for 9 months without violation, applicants who have completed the appropriate training are eligible for a Provisional License. At this point you may schedule your driver’s skills test at any MVA testing center for your Provisional License.
The 2-part test will be conducted in your own car, or in our vehicle if you choose to do so. An MVA examiner will sit in the passenger seat and ask you to perform various driving maneuvers.
The first part of the test reviews your ability to parallel park and complete a two-point turnabout on a test course at the MVA. The second section of the exam will take you to a neighborhood for on-the-road testing for 10 to 15 minutes. The examiner will ask you to perform several maneuvers in traffic, such as turns and lane changes.
Need extra practice for the driving skills test? Domus offers supplemental lessons help you brush up on and prepare for these maneuvers. Our instructors are very familiar with the MVA test and will show you the best techniques to help you pass on your first try!
5. Fulfill Provisional Drivers License Requirements Maryland law requires that you keep your Provisional License for at least 18 months before it can be converted to a full Driver's License.
When driving with your Provisional License, the following restrictions will apply:
· During the first 5 months, Provisional License holders under 18 years old are not allowed to have friends under the age of 18 in the car, unless accompanied by a qualified supervising driver. If no supervising driver is present, then the only passengers under 18 permitted are family members
· Provisional License holders under the age of 18 are not permitted to drive after midnight unless accompanied by a qualified supervising driver. There are some exceptions to this rule for certain work-related or school-related activities.
· In order to convert to a full Driver's License, you must keep your provisional license for at least 18 months with no traffic violations. If you receive a speeding ticket or other violation while you have your Provisional License, then the 18-month waiting period will reset, and you will need to wait an additional 18 months.
6. Obtain Your Full Driver’s License Once you meet all the requirements for a full license, the MVA automatically converts the provisional license to a full license. An attachment card showing the conversion will be mailed to you and must be kept with your license.